Cakes II Exam

August 4, 2011 § 1 Comment

Today for the cake decorating exam I had to make a chiffon cake with fruit mousse and buttercream.  We had to submit itineraries and sketches beforehand.  My intention was to make orange chiffon and blackberry mousse, but in class we only had lemons (no oranges) and raspberry (what!) was my closest option for the mousse.

The theme for my cake was a going-away cake for one of Ewat’s colleagues.  They work at a record label so I wanted to decorate it with some gold records since no one goes platinum anymore.  I made the decorations out of marzipan.  Besides the flavors, it came out pretty much according to plan.

Here’s a couple of my classmates cakes.  I really wanted a photo with all twenty of them, but that didn’t quite work out.

Man, there’s something about these small 6 inch cakes we’ve been making.  Such a good size.  I like it a lot.  Hooray for cakes!

Tomorrow – CHOCOLATE!!!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Cakes II Exam

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cakes II Exam at cakes and pies.

meta