That’s right, more cakes

July 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

Known amongst friends as “the brick,” this Marjolaine is layers of the same almond meringue as the Coffee Dacquoise and also includes a layer of the same Coffee Buttercream.  Here it is, before freezing and trimming.

The base is a chocolate Genoise cake, then the following layers: Dark Chocolate Ganache (choco + cream), Dacquoise, Creme D’or (choc + whipped cream), Dacquoise, Coffee Buttercream, Dacquoise, Whipped Cream (flavored with Whiskey), and Dacquoise.  After freezing and trimming, we covered the brick in more buttercream and then a chocolate glaze.

I brought this to a birthday party for Classy P.  The Dacquoise (almond meringue) layers turned from crispy to chewy which I really liked in contrast to the various silky smooth fillings.  I would love to make this again for another special occasion, but there are so many different components that the Lazy in me will probably win out.

For Classy P’s birthday we also had a White and Dark Chocolate Mousse Cake

Carrot Cake with marzipan carrot decorations.  Cute alert!

And a Black Currant Mousse cake and Chocolate Cupcakes which unfortunately are not pictured.  Boo hoo!

These last two cakes are pretty nice cakes, but I left them at school because believe it or not, I didn’t feel like eating them.  What?  I dunno!  Both of them were originally created, to sustain a longer shelf life.  I think they last at least a week outside of the fridge, assuming you don’t have a sweet-toothed cat walrus lurking around.

This is the cake-formerly-known-as-Sacher-Torte.  It is not Sacher-Torte.  In fact, there are only two Sacher-Torte legally found on Earth at either the Sacher Hotel bakeries or the Demel bakeries, both Austrian.  Given how exclusive these cakes are, you’d think they were extra special tasting.  That’s what you’d think.  It’s chocolate cake with apricot jam and chocolate fondant.

FUN fact: Demel New York was one of my clients when I was working in insurance.  They had a bakery, now closed, at the Plaza Hotel.    The surviving side of the business in NY is high-end airline and airport lounge catering at JFK.  If you’ve ever worked with the Port Authority of NY & NJ I’d love to hear about your experience.  Not!

I also left behind this Dobos Torte (pronounced “Dobosh”) named after a Hungarian baker.

Ours is five layers of sponge cake, chocolate buttercream and crunchy caramel sponge cake topping.

I liked the crunchy top and the sponge cake was the spongiest we’ve made.  As for the buttercream, it was yummy, but buttercream is generally not my favorite filling.  What?  Too much butter??

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading That’s right, more cakes at cakes and pies.

meta